PRESS DEMOCRAT'S Sports Department

Different picks by PD's Web Site


Athlete of the Year

Sadia Ibrahim

10, Santa Rosa Sadia Ibrahim Santa Rosa track coach Doug Courtemarche remembers Ibrahim as an eager middle schooler coming to watch high school meets. As a freshman, she proved to be surprisingly mature for her age. As a sophomore, Ibrahim climbed to dominance. She had the fastest time in the NBL in the 400 meters this year, and the third fastest in the 200. She anchored the Panthers’ 4x100 and 4x400 relay teams, both of which qualified for the NCS Meet of Champions. But it was over 800 meters that Ibrahim gained separation, winning the MOC by a full second and finishing 15th at the state meet. “She’s the one we depended on for just about anything,” Courtemarche said. “We can put her in a lot of situations.” Ibrahim is just as valuable off the track, where she is known for working with younger runners and helping her coach put away rakes and brooms after practices. — Phil Barber, The Press Democrat FIRST TEAM Courtney Accurso, Casa Grande, freshman Kiana Herold, Sonoma Academy, sophomore Kyra Johnson, Piner, junior Devyn Ruiz, Healdsburg, sophomore Laurel Sheppard, Maria Carrillo, sophomore Danielle Steffen, Petaluma, junior Sarah Summers, Sonoma Valley, junior Courtney Tuck, Petaluma, sophomore Elaine Weaver, Casa Grande, senior Darci Whyte, Santa Rosa, freshman SECOND TEAM Maria Barragan, Healdsburg, sophomore Devon Brook, Windsor, junior Kelly Brooks, Santa Rosa, senior Lea Butler, Rancho Cotate, junior Jackie Chalmers, Montgomery, sophomore Kathleen Durand, Maria Carrillo, sophomore Lauren Kraus, Maria Carrillo, sophomore Nicole Lane, El Molino, junior Allison McIntyre, Analy, sophomore Alyssa Page, Montgomery, senior COACH OF THE YEAR Michael Pointer, Maria Carrillo